MCS Celebrates Teachers & Employees, Names 2015 Teacher Of The Year - May 27

Teachers of the Year, 2014 - 2015 Marietta City Schools (MCS) honored teachers and school system employees during its annual awards celebration Katy Eason, a fifth-grade teacher at Sawyer Road Elementary was named the 2015 System Teacher of the Year. Dr. Emily Lembeck, MCS Superintendent made the announcement at the district's Annual Teacher of the Year and Employee Awards Ceremony held May 27, 2014. More»

MCS System Teacher of the Year, 2015

MCS System Teacher of the Year, 2015
Katy Eason, Sawyer Road Elementary

Teachers of the Year, 2014 - 2015

Teachers of the Year, 2014 - 2015
Robert Pinto,
Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

Benita Miner, Lockheed Elementary

Romar L. Blackmon, Park Street Elementary

Emily Sundvik, West Side Elementary

Mary Northcutt, Marietta Middle School

Katie Gaudette, A.L. Burruss Elementary

Adrienne Lemoine, Dunleith Elementary
Sue Veldman,
Hickory Hills Elementary

Katy Eason,
Sawyer Road Elementary

Marlene Martin,
Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Ginger Pratt, Marietta High School

Dr. Emily Lembeck, Superintendent

Outstanding New Employees, 2014

The Outstanding New Employee Award recognizes those new employees who have distinguished themselves through their performance.

Outstanding New Employees, 2014
Laura Moseley, A.L. Burruss Elementary

Lisa Printup, Central Office

Leigh Ann Bohacek,
Department of Special Services

Christina Johnson, Dunleith Elementary

Lauren Till, Hickory Hills Elementary

Katherine Penuela, Lockheed Elementary

Amy Crandall,
Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

Lorraine Reeves, Marietta High School
Blair Yenowine, Marietta Middle School

O’Neal McRunnells,
Marietta Performance Learning Center

Jennifer Goble,
Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Sara Sillesky, Sawyer Road Elementary

Petra Wallace, Transportation

Mimi Hager, West Side Elementary

Outstanding Educational Support Employees, 2014

The Outstanding Educational Support Employee Award recognizes those classified employees who distinguish themselves through their dedicated service to the system.

Outstanding Educational Support Employees, 2014
Heling Aguilar, A.L. Burruss Elementary

Lisa Burton, Central Office

Sherral Mann, Department of Special Services

Sandra Roth, Dunleith Elementary

Cleo McGinnis,
Hickory Hills Elementary

Betzaide “Betsy” Rivera, Lockheed Elementary

Tracy Williams,
Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

Elise Goldstein, Marietta High School
Cory Jordan, Marietta Middle School

Taiwan Moore, Marietta PLC

Gigonda “Tootie” Berniard, Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Nancy Cordell, Park Street Elementary

Jatziry Echeverria,
Sawyer Road Elementary

Jackie Turner, Transportation

Charlton Coln, West Side Elementary

Angela Jordan, School Nutrition

Outstanding Certified Employees, 2014

The Outstanding Certified Employee Award recognizes a teacher, counselor, media specialist, psychologist, social worker or administrator who has distinguished themselves through their service to the school system.

Outstanding Certified Employees, 2014
Jennifer Kloet, A.L. Burruss Elementary

Reagan Biwott, Central Office

Arlene Barrow,
Department of Special Services

Amanda Cobb, Dunleith Elementary

Melanie Wilson, Hickory Hills Elementary

Liz Huff, Lockheed Elementary

Malti Tuttle,
Marietta Center for Advance Academics

Alex Derival, Marietta High School

James Guthrie, Marietta Middle School

Stephany Lyons, Marietta PLC

Holly Smith, Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Ashley Terrell, Park Street Elementary

Mardy Schicker. Sawyer Road Elementary

Diana Malone, West Side Elementary

Customer Service Excellence Award, 2014

The Customer Service Excellence Award recognizes a Marietta City school or work site that provides outstanding or noteworthy service to customers.

Customer Service Excellence Award, 2014
Gabe Carmona, Principal,
Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Class-E Tech Award, 2014

The Class-E Technology Award recognizes educators that are taking full advantage of technology tools to innovate within the educational setting district-wide.

Class-E Tech Award, 2014
Amy Miller
, Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Rose Wing Teacher of Promise Award, 2014

Ms. Rose Wing Jr., presented the Rose Wing Teacher of Promise Award to Christina Updyke, a teacher at A.L. Burruss Elementary, in memoriam to Mrs. Rose Wing who taught for 42 years at Marietta City Schools. The award established in 2013 recognizes young teachers with 2-5 years of teaching experience who embody the extraordinary ability and spirit that Mrs. Wing brought to the profession.

Rose Wing Teacher of Promise Award, 2014
Ms. Rose Wing Jr. and Winner, Christina Updyke
, A.L. Burruss Elementary Nominees:

Kerrie Bettes, Dunleith Elementary

Rachel Neese, Hickory Hills Elementary

Amanda Quay, Hickory Hills

Lauren Till, Hickory Hills

Carrie Rainey, Lockheed

Lauren Bentley,
Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

Jessica Strickland,
Sawyer Road Elementary

Mary Ellen Mayer, Marietta Middle School

Khamia Powell, Marietta Middle School

Shannon Thompson, Marietta High School

Superintendent’s Awards 2014

Superintendent's Awards are presented to those employees who are deemed to deserve special recognition for their contributions to their school or work site, and the system overall.

Superintendent’s Awards 2014
Erin Franklin,
Director of Finance
Allison McMahan, Director of Human Resources

Superintendent’s Awards 2014
Margarita Ojeda,
Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Board Appreciation Awards, 2014

Board Appreciation Awards are presented by the Board of Education of the City of Marietta to parents or other community members, businesses or organizations that support the system by giving of their time and talents, and are deemed to have made outstanding contributions to the school district.

Board Appreciation Awards, 2014

Kim Gresh, President, S.A. White Oil Company

Kim Gresh is the President of S. A. White Oil Company. Kim donated a $25 CITGO Gift Card to each employee as part of a special ceremony honoring their bravery through the “Winter Jam” storm. Founded in 1926, family owned S. A. White Oil Company has built a reputation for excellence in products, service and customer satisfaction in the Marietta community.

Abiding Angels of First United Methodist Church (Kristin Hanfland MCS, Social Worker accepted award on their behalf)

Several years ago the missions’ team at First United Methodist Church approached the MCS social work department wanting to adopt students at Christmas. They coined their program "Christmas Angels.” Seeing the need of children in our community, the Christmas Angels decided to extend the partnership beyond Christmas and rebranded themselves as "Abiding Angels." Since that time Abiding Angels have generously:

· Donated their time and energy in times of crisis (like apartment fires)
· Provided computers for students
· Provided beds for families
· Donated funds for daycare, gas, food, clothing and so much more

Employee of the Year, 2014

Employee of the Year, 2014
Ginger Pratt, Marietta High School

Title Sponsor

Ed Voyles

Co-title Sponsors

Marietta Power



Signature Sponsor

Torrance Construction Co.



Atlanta Symphony Orchestra 

Brunswick Zone - Delk Road 

Brunswick Zone XL - Kennesaw 

Center for Puppetry Arts 

Chick-fil-A @ Marietta Trade Center 

Chiropractic Total Health Care, LLC 

CitruSolution of West Cobb 

Cobb County Community Services Board 

Cobb Hardware Company

Credit Union of Georgia 

Fabric & Fringe Warehouse

GA School Supply

High Museum of Art

Hoppy's Car Wash 

Renaissance Waverly 

The Penstock Group, Inc.