Marietta City Schools
Balanced Scorecards Inclement Weather CCRPI Charter System Community Directions and Maps Fact Sheet Georgia Open Records Act Marietta Schools Foundation Partners In Education PTA/PTSA School District Profile SPLOST Strategic Plan Superintendent's Office Employee Awards
Addressing The Board Agendas & Meeting Minutes Board Key Projects Board Members Board Policies
Curriculum & Instruction Finance Human Resources Operations School Nutrition Special Services &
Educational Support
› A.L. Burruss Elementary › Dunleith Elementary › Hickory Hills Elementary › Lockheed Elementary › Park Street Elementary › Sawyer Road Elementary › West Side Elementary › Marietta Center for Advanced Academics › Marietta Sixth Grade Academy › Marietta Middle School › Marietta High School › Marietta Performance Learning Center Back to School Bell Schedules Bus Routes Directions and Maps Find Your School Handbooks and Forms School Calendar Student Registration
Before/After School Choice Academies Driver Education Gifted Student Services STEM Magnet Program IB Program Title I Programs
@home Archives Bios and Photos Board Notes Archives Connect to Us e-News Logos MCaSts Podcasts Press Kit Press Releases RSS News Feeds
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Share this page on Facebook  Share this page on Twitter  Share this page on LinkedIn  Bookmark this page  Subscribe to our Press Releases RSS feeds  Email this page  Print this page (printer friendly)

News Release

Contact: Thomas Algarin, Director, Communication & Information
770-422-3500 ext. 282

Release May 29, 2013

MCS Celebrates Teachers & Employees,
Names 2014 Teacher Of The Year - May 28
Johnson, MCAA third-grade science/math teacher

MARIETTA, GA -– Marietta City Schools (MCS) honored teachers and school system employees during its annual awards celebration. Stormi Johnson, a third-grade mathematics and science teacher at Marietta Center for Advanced Academics (MCAA) was named the 2014 System Teacher of the Year. Dr. Emily Lembeck, MCS Superintendent made the announcement at the district's Annual Teacher of the Year and Employee Awards Ceremony held May 28, 2013.

“Stormi Johnson is an excellent educator and she has merited this honor and distinction,” said MCS Superintendent Dr. Emily Lembeck. “She helps to build successful partnerships within the community and teaches students to do the same. She truly makes a difference in the lives of the children she touches every day.”

“We are grateful to our valued business partners, Ed Voyles Automotive Group, Marietta Power & Water, ICS, Credit Union of Georgia and other Cobb/Marietta area businesses for their continued financial support. Each year they help make it possible for us to host the Annual Teacher of the Year and Employee Awards Ceremony,” added Lembeck.

Randy Weiner, Chair of the Board of Education of the City of Marietta, presented a Board Appreciation Award to the Kiwanis Club of Marietta accepted by Judge Mary Staley and Club President Bobby Tharpe. The award recognized Kiwanis Club of Marietta for establishing the new Kiwanis Technology Center at Marietta High School (MHS) designed to close the digital divide between students with access to technology in their homes and those without. Kiwanis awarded technology scholarships to a group of 25 deserving MHS juniors entitling them to receive a laptop computer to take home.

Weiner also presented a Board Appreciation Award to Pete E. Quinones, CEO of Metro Ambulance for his valued support and service the school district. Over the years, Metro Ambulance has donated Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) to Marietta City schools, and provided on-site ambulances for MHS football home games and at graduation.

Ms. Rose Wing Jr., presented the Rose Wing Teacher of Promise Award to Katy Eason, a teacher at Sawyer Road Elementary, in memoriam to Mrs. Rose Wing who taught for 42 years at Marietta City Schools. The award established in 2013 recognizes young teachers with 2-5 years of teaching experience who embody the extraordinary ability and spirit that Mrs. Wing brought
to the profession.

Other Award categories presented included, the 2013 Customer Service Excellence Award presented to Marietta Middle School and the Save-A-Watt Energy Challenge Awards.

2013-2014 MCS Teachers of the Year
 Gene Howell, A.L. Burruss Elementary
 Miriam White, Dunleith Elementary
 Julie Winsor, Hickory Hills Elementary
 Judith Arbelo-Weber, Lockheed Elementary
 Stormi Johnson, MCAA
 Rachel Morrissey, Park Street Elementary
 Kristen Dawson, Sawyer Road Elementary
 Carrie Reeser, West Side Elementary
 Karen Hirons, Marietta Sixth Grade Academy
 Kayce Grogan-Wallace, Marietta Middle School
 Barbara Manwell, Marietta High School

pdf document View Print Version