Return to Headlines

Fifth-annual Mayor’s Awards celebrate MCS students and faculty

Mayor Steve Tumlin visited all 12 Marietta City Schools (MCS) this week to present the 2022 Mayor’s Awards. This fifth-annual celebration recognizes one student and one staff member at each MCS school.

The “Be Somebody Award” is given to a staff member who has made a positive difference in the lives of their students and the Marietta community.

The “Blue Devil Award” is given to a student who demonstrates a positive attitude, exceptional character, and a great work ethic.

Congratulations to the 2022 recipients.

Be Somebody Award:

Katherine Gaudette, A.L. Burruss Elementary

Alexandra Foster, Dunleith Elementary

Mary Gagliardi, Hickory Hills Elementary

Luisa Loureiro, Lockheed Elementary

Nicole Renshaw, Park Street Elementary

Khalil McQueen, Sawyer Road Elementary

Carla Adkison, West Side Elementary

Stella Kilpatrick, Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

Melody Hess, Early Learning Center

Samantha Monge, Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Jerrennis Varner, Marietta Middle School

Jessica Meade, Marietta High School


Blue Devil Award:

Emma Hunt, A.L. Burruss Elementary

Aiden Brooks, Dunleith Elementary

Nolan Waters, Hickory Hills Elementary

Patricia Andrade Silva, Lockheed Elementary

Alisson Zeledon Centeno, Park Street Elementary

Bennett Peters, Sawyer Road Elementary

Karter Thomas, West Side Elementary

Jeremy Harris, Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

George Tumlin, Early Learning Center

Ivan Darden, Jr., Marietta Sixth Grade Academy

Gunnar Martin, Marietta Middle School

Nicholas Wolfson, Marietta High School