Return to Headlines

MHS Student Council Receives National Gold Council of Excellence

The Marietta High School Student Council received the school’s first National Gold Council of Excellence recognition. Student Body Officers for the 2021-2022 school year included:

  • President: Alexandra (Alex) Audrain (senior)
  • Vice-President: Parie Desai (junior)
  • Secretary: Mariama Njie (junior)
  • Treasurer: Ella Chesney (senior)
  • Co-Publicity Chairs: Isabelle Lovejoy (senior) and Frances Store (sophomore)
  • Staff Advisor: Kibbie DeJarnett

In order to receive this recognition, the officers and other council members had to document all leadership and service activities that improved the school and community. The recognition affirms that the MHS Student Council reached the highest levels of commitment to ensuring a positive student climate and culture and fostering academic and social growth of all students.

The National Student Council (NSC) was created in 1931 to help middle and high school student councils become more effective. By becoming a National Gold Council of Excellence, the MHS Student Council will have the opportunity to continue their leadership growth through National Student Council conferences, webinars, and the strong network of other student councils.