Georgia Milestones Assessment System (GMAS)

Georgia Milestones Logo

Students in grades 3-8 will take the Georgia Milestones End of Grade Assessments (EOG). The Milestones are part of the required assessment program for the state of Georgia. Students will be assessed on how well they have learned the content standards for their grade.

Test items are multiple-choice and constructed response and will provide both the school and parent with important information about the strenghts and weaknesses of students incore academic areas. The tests are based on the required state curriculum and are designed to measure the knowledge and skills taught and learned in Georgia classrooms.

  • 3rd Graders are tested in ELA and Math
  • 4th Graders are tested in ELA and Math
  • 5th Graders are tested in ELA, Math, Science and Social Studies

Study Resource Guides:

Milestones Achievement Levels

The Georgia Milestones Assessment System utilizes four achievement levels. to describe student mastery and command of the knowledge and skills outlined in Georgia’s content standards. Most students have at least some knowledge of the content described in the content standards; however, achievement levels succinctly describe how much mastery a student has. Achievement levels give meaning and context to scale scores by describing the knowledge and skills students must demonstrate to achieve each level.

The four achievement levels on Georgia Milestones are:

  • Beginning Learner
  • Developing Learner
  • Proficient Learner
  • Distinguished Learner
  • .

Additional Georgia Milestones Resources